Head of the Marina 2013

LBRA had four boats representing the club at the head of the Marina today all taking first place. The men’s and women’s masters 8+, a mixed masters 8+ and a pair. Congratulations to all four crews.

Head of the American 2013

Congratulations to all the LBRA boats who competed at this years Head of the American.

Kresimir Ivkovic won the Men’s Open 1x event and was first out of 10 crews.

Mary Perrot won the Womens Masters Lightweight 1x.

Rob Perrot & Juan Felix raced in the Men’s Masters 2x and was 3rd out of 13 crews,

and the Mens Masters 4+ were 7th out of 11 crews.

Sports Graphic pictures.

Happy Halloween

Cartoon by: Mike BrowneZombies-should-not-ErgHappy Halloween

LBRA competing at the Head of the Charles

LBRA has four boats proudly entered and representing the Long Beach Rowing Association at this year’s Head of the Charles. The two boats rowing under LBRA’s colors today are the Women’s Senior Masters 8 (50+), Event 7, bow 25 (in a field of 45 eights); and the Men’s Senior Master Doubles (50+), event 10, with Juan Felix and P. Adkins, bow 21 (in a field of 42 doubles). On Sunday, Helen Frykman and Sherri Kline race in an LBRA composite Directors Challenge Women’s Quad (bow #10, out of a field of 30); and P. Adkins and Juan Felix race with two of Juan’s daughters (How cool is that?) in an LBRA composite Directors Challenge Mixed Quad (bow #10 out of a field of 25). We have many other members racing under other clubs. It’s tough to get an entry. 🙂 Good luck to all! Go LBRA!

Athlete of the Year

Congratulations to LBRA’s Jack Nunn, 2013 USRowing Fan’s Choice Masters Athlete of the Year!!


Learn to Row Day

LTRD 2015

2013 San Diego Crew Classic Men’s Club Champions

2013 San Diego Crew Classic Men's Club Champions, by Joan VBCongratulations to the 2013 San Diego Crew Classic Men’s Club Champions, LBRA! Pat Hayes, John Nunn, Juan Felix, David Kidd, Jack Nunn (Powerhouse Fit), David Gleeson, Rob Perrot, John Van Blom, and Coxswain Mark Mason. LBRA Men have won the Club Championship 12 times out of the last 14 years. 6 straight wins 2000-2005, then a loss in 2006 (Marin), and in 2007 (Pocock), followed by 6 more straight wins, 2008-2013. Coxswain Mark Mason has been in 11 of those winning LBRA boats.

Pete Archer Rowing Center Events

The purpose of this post is to inform members when the boathouse will be occupied with a regatta, where and what part of the waterways will be closed off for racing and the times the dock will be busy.

March 2 – Opening Day – Long Beach State

7:30am to Noon
2,000 meter – from the Yacht Club to the end of the Stadium
Visiting Crews launching from the beach in the Stadium
PLEASE be careful going to the Yacht Club as crews will be using all spans to race.

March 3 – Bay Series – Last Drag Race – LBRA
6:30am to 8:00am – 5,000 meters – from end of stadium, around island to boathouse dock
Free – Hope all will attend!

March 9 – Beach Crew Fundraiser – Long Beach State
4pm-8pm $90 a ticket

March 16 – Cal Cup – Long Beach Junior Crew
7:30am – 4:00pm
1,400 meters from Launch dock to end of Stadium


Visiting Crews launching from the beach in the Stadium

PLEASE go single file past the bridge to the Yacht Club then train on the ‘back’ side of the island or back channel.

March 17 – Spring Regatta – LBRA

7:00am to 4:00pm – 2,000 and 1,000 meter races.

Visiting Crews launching from the beach in the Stadium

Hope everyone will attend – we NEED volunteers